Project Based Learning (PBL)

I am a student who is new to the teaching world (although I am a tutor, I haven’t been in a classroom on the teacher side) and as a student I haven’t seen project based learning as a forefront of the classroom.  There have been times I have been set up with a team to do a project, but we have learned the information about it first, then have to replicate the steps within the project.  One project I remember in high school is dissecting a pig.  We all learned the basics of the internal and external features of the pig before the project happened, and then during the dissection we had to find the features based off the knowledge of what the teacher lectured to us.  In today’s classrooms of what I have experienced as a student I have yet to see any PBL teams and projects.  I believe that PBL is something that I have been waiting to hear.  I want to teacher high school math and have been thinking of ways to make the material exciting for them to learn.  I believe PBL is the answer to what I have been contemplating.  According to edutopia.org, PBL and math is very hard to do, but it still can be done.  I found a blog on edutopia.org that explains how difficult it is, but is still able to be done (http://www.edutopia.org/blog/project-based-learning-math-standards).  I believe using PBL in the classroom with help those students remember math standards easier.  I am hoping those students will do their share of the project instead of relying on others to do the work for them.  

3 thoughts on “Project Based Learning (PBL)

  1. Hello Joyce,

    I agree with a lot of the comments you made in your blog. Many more teachers should utilize PBL in their classrooms because it allows students to be more engaged in what they are learning. It is interesting when we learned so much in high school but seem to remember a few lessons so much better than others like your example of dissecting the pig. I also remember a few projects from high school in physics and some other science classes that incorporated group interaction. I currently teach math and it can be a challenge to incorporate PBL into every single lesson although it is something I try to do. I also agree that if we can use PBL in a math classroom, the students will have a much higher likelihood of remembering the different standards they need to know.

    Like

  2. Hello Joyce,
    As you know I am also working on being a math teacher and although I prefer to be a middle school math teacher, I might end up in high school just like I am now. Either way as I was reading through the explanation of pbl, I kept thinking of how I could design a project that would work for my students in Algebra 2. We are really close to the end of the year now and I don’t think I will have time, but I still would like to start thinking of projects that would fit in with the new common core standards. I liked the article that you linked from your post, it reassures math teachers that pbl can be used in the classrooms.
    I thought that pbl and math could only be used if we created a cross curricular project and that sounds very difficult because we would have to find other teachers who teach other subjects and try to think of a project that would work for all of us and that would benefit the student in all content areas.

    Like

  3. I really would like to see PBL implemented in math! Personally, I find math a difficult subject to teach, let alone learn, and I agree that PBL would be a great learning strategy to relay the content in a way that it is comprehensive, but fun at the same time! If I had PBL implemented within my math classes I think it would’ve made my experience more bearable, and plus this can be used as a strategy to assess what has been taught. Educators are always developing and changing ways to make learning fun, and PBL is a great way to differentiate the instruction. the PBLU website within our book as well had some great examples that can be relevant to what you want to teach, it can be a great resource for you http://pblu.org/. I seen some math PBL projects that you may want to look into for future references.

    Like

Leave a Reply

